Scholarship Program

The Epilepsy Foundation Western/Central Pennsylvania has offered a scholarship program since 2001. This year, thanks to the generosity of private and corporate donations, the program awarded eight scholarships totaling $10,000.

To be eligible for the EFWCP Scholarship, a person must: have a diagnosis of epilepsy/seizure disorder, provide proof of acceptance to a post-secondary academic or vocational program, be a recent high school graduate, attend school full-time, and be a legal resident of western/central Pennsylvania. If you are interested in applying for next year’s scholarship program, contact the EFWCP in the fall of 2017.

2017 Scholarship Recipients

The Epilepsy Foundation Western/Central Pennsylvania congratulates the recipients of this year’s annual college scholarship program. Eight outstanding high school seniors, all of whom are faced with a seizure disorder/epilepsy, received a scholarship to further their education. Winners were selected based on several factors, including their ability to maintain a positive academic grade average and overcome adversity.

Madisyn Kovach

Madisyn Kovach (Beaver County) Madisyn received the EFWCP’s $2,500 Paige Holland Memorial Scholarship. This scholarship is awarded to the applicant with the highest overall score. She graduated from Ambridge Area High School and will attend Robert Morris University majoring in Graphic Design.

Brittany Platt

Brittany Platt (Allegheny County) Brittany graduated from Shaler Area Senior High School and has plans to attend the University of Pittsburgh with a major in Pre-Physical Therapy. Brittany is the recipient of the $1,500 Rohr Golden Scholarship. This scholarship is awarded to the applicant with the second highest overall score.

Alyssa Brown

Alyssa Brown (Clearfield County) Alyssa graduated from Dubois Area High School. She received this year’s $1,000 UPMC Center for Inclusion at UPMC Award. Alyssa will major in Nursing at Clarion University.

Jacob MacLean

Jacob MacLean (Westmoreland County) Jacob graduated from Kiski Area High School and Forbes Road Career and Technology School. Jacob will attend Pittsburgh Technical Institute majoring in Hospitality Management. He is the recipient of the EFWCP’s $1,000 Celeste Katherine DeFrank Memorial Scholarship.

Jenna Whitmer

Jenna Whitmer (Butler County) Jenna is this year’s recipient the EFWCP’s $1,000 Julie McCormick Memorial Scholarship. Jenna graduated from Slippery Rock High School and will attend Slippery Rock University with a major in Education.

Nathen Dietrich

Nathen Dietrich (York County) Nathen is the recipient of a $1,000 EFWCP Scholarship. He graduated from South Western High School in Hanover, PA. He will be attending the Hiram G. Andrews Center majoring in Communication.

Valerie Kosson

Valerie Kosson (York County) Valerie is a graduate of Susquehanna High School in Freedom, PA. She will attend Lebanon Valley College majoring in Music Performance. Valerie has been awarded a $1,000 EFWCP Scholarship.

Sofia Spadotto

Sofia Spadotto (York County) Sofia is a graduate of York Suburban High School. Sofia will attend Temple University majoring in Marketing. She received a $1,000 EFWCP Scholarship.

EFWCP on FacebookFollow EFWCP on Twitter